Blog Archives

Meet the contestants: WUCO’s Adam Glover has got game!

Hi! My name is Adam Glover. I’m a student from the WesternU College of Optometry (WUCO) Class of 2019. My favorite things in this world are optometry, floral prints, Southern California beaches, and Stephen Curry, who I’m 99% sure holds the evidence-based title “Greatest basketball player Of All Time”



When I’m not studying, you can catch me giving lunch-time campus tours to interviewees for a free Panera Bread sandwich or at the local LA Fitness raining down 3 pointers on the heads of my classmates Brandon Betts and Cody Alvarado.  I love optometry for its opportunities to be creative in problem solving and to resolve chief complaints.

I look forward to seeing you all in Denver!

It’s Time: Essilor OSB season is back!

OSB 2017

The exciting Essilor Optometry Student Bowl (OSB) event is back! Join us at Optometry’s Meeting 2017 in Washington, D.C. as student contestants from 24 different optometry schools compete for the famous crystal Ventura Cup and a $1,000 grand prize.

Who: Everyone is invited! ODs, optometry students, optometric staff, guests, etc.
What: Essilor OSB XXVI and Reception
When: Thursday, June 22 from 7:30 – 11:00pm
Where: Optometry’s Meeting at Walter E. Washington Convention Center
Why: This is an event you do not want to miss! Where else will you experience the fun of hundreds of cheering ODs and optometry students?

Follow our website and like our Facebook page for OSB updates!

Behind the scenes at the Rules Video

One of the honors of winning the Varilux Optometry Student Bowl is earning the right to produce the Rules Video for the next year.  Pacific University College of Optometry nominated a political theme and plans to dazzle the pundits at the 25th Annual Varilux Optometry Student Bowl in June.

The OSB season has started!

Yes! The OSB season has started! Student contestants are being drafted from each optometry school as we speak! Each school hosts their own quiz bowl to pick the quickest and brightest students for the playoffs at OSB! We would like to invite current and past optometry students to join us for this exciting event at this year’s Varilux® Optometry Student Bowl™ XXV and Reception on Thursday, June 30, 2016 from 7:30 – 11:00 pm. This year Optometry’s Meeting is located at the Boston Convention Exhibition Center (BCEC).

Here are 3 simple steps to get started!

Keep in touch with us! Please like our Facebook Page and join our Facebook Group.

The Legend of OSB: Past and Present Winners!


David Zimmerman (UAB) & Blake Dornstauder (NOVA) tied for first place at the 2013 OSB in San Diego!

We would like to recognize the past winners of the Varilux® Optometry Student Bowl™. Every year, each optometry school sends in their finest student to test their knowledge, speed, and nerves against each other, the distinguished judges, and hundreds of screaming fans! The contestants may have undergone extensive training, studying, and simulations to prepare for such a feat. The winner brings home bragging rights for their entire school! So bring your school spirit to OSB and make your contestant a part of this legend!

Ron Sayers 1992 OSU College of Optometry Chicago
Shane Laster 1993 NSU College of Optometry St. Louis
Shane Laster 1994 NSU College of Optometry Newport Beach
Andy Feltz 1995 OSU College of Optometry Memphis
David Leonard 1996 SCCO Southern California College of Optometry Portland
Gregg Steele 1997 UAB College of Optometry Birmingham
Jason Miller 1998 OSU College of Optometry Houston
Robert Rhodes 1999 NOVA College of Optometry Ft. Lauderdale
William Witt 2000 NSU College of Optometry New York
Bill Barnes 2001 PCO Pennsylvania College of Optometry St. Louis
Bradley N. Hines 2002 UAB College of Optometry Philadelphia
Michael Monson 2003 SCO Southern College of Optometry San Diego
Kari Burchett 2004 SCO Southern College of Optometry Orlando
Shawn Beilby 2005 SCO Southern College of Optometry Dallas
Marisa Chung 2006 UCB University of Berkeley Las Vegas
Hanish Patel 2007 SUNY State University New York Boston
Brian Snydsman 2008 UCB University of Berkeley Seattle
Aarlan Aceto 2009 NECO New England College of Optometry Washington, DC
Andrew Treece 2010 UAB College of Optometry Orlando
Ian McWherter 2011 PCO Pennsylvania College of Optometry Salt Lake City
Karen Lee 2012 IU Indiana University College of Optometry Chicago
David Zimmerman (UAB) Blake Dornstauder (NOVA) 2013 TIE – UAB, NOVA San Diego
Students supporting their school's contestant!

Students supporting their school’s contestant!


The OSB Judges!