The Legend of OSB: Past and Present Winners!


David Zimmerman (UAB) & Blake Dornstauder (NOVA) tied for first place at the 2013 OSB in San Diego!

We would like to recognize the past winners of the Varilux® Optometry Student Bowl™. Every year, each optometry school sends in their finest student to test their knowledge, speed, and nerves against each other, the distinguished judges, and hundreds of screaming fans! The contestants may have undergone extensive training, studying, and simulations to prepare for such a feat. The winner brings home bragging rights for their entire school! So bring your school spirit to OSB and make your contestant a part of this legend!

Ron Sayers 1992 OSU College of Optometry Chicago
Shane Laster 1993 NSU College of Optometry St. Louis
Shane Laster 1994 NSU College of Optometry Newport Beach
Andy Feltz 1995 OSU College of Optometry Memphis
David Leonard 1996 SCCO Southern California College of Optometry Portland
Gregg Steele 1997 UAB College of Optometry Birmingham
Jason Miller 1998 OSU College of Optometry Houston
Robert Rhodes 1999 NOVA College of Optometry Ft. Lauderdale
William Witt 2000 NSU College of Optometry New York
Bill Barnes 2001 PCO Pennsylvania College of Optometry St. Louis
Bradley N. Hines 2002 UAB College of Optometry Philadelphia
Michael Monson 2003 SCO Southern College of Optometry San Diego
Kari Burchett 2004 SCO Southern College of Optometry Orlando
Shawn Beilby 2005 SCO Southern College of Optometry Dallas
Marisa Chung 2006 UCB University of Berkeley Las Vegas
Hanish Patel 2007 SUNY State University New York Boston
Brian Snydsman 2008 UCB University of Berkeley Seattle
Aarlan Aceto 2009 NECO New England College of Optometry Washington, DC
Andrew Treece 2010 UAB College of Optometry Orlando
Ian McWherter 2011 PCO Pennsylvania College of Optometry Salt Lake City
Karen Lee 2012 IU Indiana University College of Optometry Chicago
David Zimmerman (UAB) Blake Dornstauder (NOVA) 2013 TIE – UAB, NOVA San Diego
Students supporting their school's contestant!

Students supporting their school’s contestant!


The OSB Judges!

Posted on April 19, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: